prairie daze

claiming our daze and our days on the prairie

happy birthday, dad

happy birthday to my dad, the opa to my kids.

many of you readers know him already, others of you know him by his comments…full of wisdom and affirmation. this part of my dad i have received my whole life and i am grateful for it. grateful for his enthusiasm and his awareness of the spirit.

my earliest memories of him include his music…mid 70s folk music.

you’ve got to fly on your own little wings

oh baby, fly high

and when you get there

i want you to know

i’ll be flying a little ways behind

i remember hearing the thump of his foot coming through the ceiling from his upstairs study before i could even hear his voice and guitar.

uncle sam it’s time to go home

uncle sam it’s time to go home

uncle sam it’s time to go home

sit down and be quiet

i remember learning about life events through his lyrics…the central american struggle, the horrors in soweto, the injustices around the globe.

today’s there’s neither the glorifying of god

nor peace on earth as long as violence remains

hunger remains, fear remains

as long as violence remains

i remember the acoustic sounds, the harmonies, the harmonica in its holder blending in with his beard.

when this time has come to an end

sing a song of joy

we have seen enough sadness in life

give us hope to the end

give us hope to the end

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

oh, dad, forgive me if your lyrics are my memory, not reality. but you have given me life through these words, through your stomping, through your playing. i found the above image of “ropes and yoke bars” on line…did you know someone is selling it on ebay in germany? hilarious.

happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday. watch the mail…we sent a birthday gift with lots of love.

6 comments on “happy birthday, dad

  1. katiecl
    May 21, 2008

    happy birthday, indeed, chuck! your songs have warmed so many of us. and i clearly remember the foot stomping — jon’s got that in him, too! (thank you, kristin for the chance to honor your wonderful family on this blog!)

  2. Dad/Opa
    May 21, 2008

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. I am deeply moved by your love and affirmation.

    I love you all dearly.

    Dad/Opa

  3. Anne
    May 21, 2008

    This is such a nice post and I love the words to the first song – it’s perfect for this time of year with so many graduations.

  4. AnnaMarie
    May 21, 2008

    I don’t think he knows it, but your dad deeply affected me, too. Happy Birthday, Chuck!!

  5. Beverly
    May 21, 2008

    I was blessed to learn “You are the God of love, you are all we need…” at a seminary event. I also remember “For the moment, nothin’s gonna take my joy away” from New Creation. What a happy song. Thank you, Chuck. Thank you, Kristin.

  6. auntiebonita
    May 22, 2008

    I remember you and I acting like crazy groupies and running down your stairs in Markham to get your Dad to autograph a poster with his picture on it, and laughing the whole way. That’s how I remember it anyway…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2008 by in family.
