prairie daze

claiming our daze and our days on the prairie

finished

i finished this modest scarf for naomi today. i bought the yarn in lawrence and got so much done on the way home…with one friend driving and others encouraging, much could happen. in this scarf are promises and secrets, strength and vulnerability, honesty and humility, joy and color, knit together in the comfort of women…all for you, naomi, in this tender time of childhood.

but before the way home we feasted and mused and let cats out of bags and wandered to eat again and cooled off after the room got to 85 degrees and listened to the voices of those up later than us and woke up to sun…

sacred time. and i remain grateful.

12 comments on “finished

  1. Bri
    February 6, 2008

    Dude! The Eldridge? Swank.

  2. Marjorie
    February 6, 2008

    Woo-hoo on the scarf! But since I am new here… (and I can’t figure out a way to read through your old posts) is Naomi your daughter? Sorry, I wanted to ask before, but I thought I could figure it out. I give.

  3. nonlineargirl
    February 7, 2008

    What a treat!

    (by the way, I like the light background, new?)

  4. Bex
    February 7, 2008

    Beautiful…Xxx

  5. Kate
    February 7, 2008

    Oh the scarf is lovely
    and your little get-away sounds delightful!!!

  6. AnnaMarie
    February 7, 2008

    I just caught up on your blog and I wish there were a web to catch all my thoughts. How inspiring your little crafties! And way to go on the scarf!! I love it!

  7. katiecl
    February 7, 2008

    yay for a completed scarf — what a boost it is to finish a project! and yay for the empowerment you all got from your outing.

  8. Jen CD
    February 7, 2008

    Wow, you got 7 comments, like, in no time…..how DO YOU DO IT?

    You are simply blogerrific!

  9. chrisandchristine
    February 7, 2008

    It is so heartwarming to know you all had the opportunity to take this trip together. May the memories of the time away bring you peace when life is feeling less than ideal.

  10. Jade
    February 7, 2008

    Loving your photography here! Nice work!

  11. megan duerksen
    February 11, 2008

    so much fun.
    getting away is THE best.
    and lawrence? lucky you!

  12. AuntieBonita
    February 24, 2008

    I am finally somewhere with fast internet so I can see all your beautiful photos. I LOVE the scarf. I think that qualifies you to be called a knitter. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2008 by in family.
