prairie daze

claiming our daze and our days on the prairie

happy birthday dear jonny

happy birthday to my little groundhog-day brother
who is no longer the little boy with smooth brown skin and sweaty ketchup hair, guitars made of anything and made-up words given clear definitons,

k-j.jpg
but what still remains from our whole life together: tender eyes, a sensitive spirit, passionate hospitality, intense love for those around him (and we are loving you too, tricia, on this day of celebrating…jon is who he is because of you), music from his own hands, and the ability to make me laugh more than anyone else can.

we love you, uncle jonny (“now that you is a gwoan-up,” says eliza).

12 comments on “happy birthday dear jonny

  1. chrisandchristine
    February 2, 2008

    Gasp!

    You know, sometimes I COMPLETELY forget that when Chris and I are sitting at home, singing that song your dad wrote, we’re singing about your brother.

    Wow!

  2. danelle
    February 2, 2008

    I wanna know what kind of lunch boxes you two had. Also, would love to see a gwoan-up pic of him! Also would love to know about this song mentioned in the above comment. Man..I sure do want to know a lot!

  3. Christy Schunn
    February 3, 2008

    What a cool big sister you are; so happy to be heading out to school with each other.

    Someday I’d like to see how he makes you laugh, that would be entertaining.

  4. Jen CD
    February 3, 2008

    This looks just like Naomi and Micah!

    Jen CD

  5. katiecl
    February 3, 2008

    except for jon being shorter than you, everything about this picture looks just like it should!

  6. johnkarinkw
    February 3, 2008

    Happy Birthday, indeed! I could stare at that photo for a loooong time. The sweet simplicity, the unique relationship between you… Oh and that belt, Kristin, I had one just like it!!

  7. Kate
    February 3, 2008

    Oh what a sweet “vintage” photo.
    Is that a Sesame Street lunch box? Do you remember it perpetually smelling like spilled milk or was that just mine?

    And HOLY COW….I just realized that I am on your blog roll- AAAHHH!!
    I am overcome with emotion!!!
    Seriously…Thank You.
    xo

  8. Auntie Bonita
    February 3, 2008

    Well, my computer won’t show me the vintage photo of you 2 but I have a pretty good picture in my memory bank of what it might look like. I have some pretty funny memories of little Jonny and my little brother when we were kids. Happy Birthday, Jon!

  9. Bex
    February 3, 2008

    Awwwwwwwwww. You’re a good big sister…Xxx

  10. kari & kijsa
    February 4, 2008

    Celebrations to the birthday boy!! (Think we had that exact outfit…except it might have been a Dukes of Hazzard lunch box (classy!!)

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  11. molly
    February 4, 2008

    too cute.

  12. Marjorie
    February 5, 2008

    I love the picture and the lunchboxes (like everyone else!) I have nothing original to say. But I just thought I would say something. sweet.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2008 by in family.
