prairie daze

claiming our daze and our days on the prairie

seeing orange

i went with the little kids to a huge root pile and found these treasures.

i kept trying to figure it out…
surely this can’t be natural…
maybe my sunglasses are altering the color…
maybe these were painted…
oh man, i think it’s the real thing…
i think these sticks are orange…

as orange as a pumpkin…

the wonder, mystery, beauty and creativity
of god is wider for me…again.

 

for the record: there was no editing of these photos…only the mid day sunshine.

5 comments on “seeing orange

  1. Stefani
    September 26, 2007

    Okay, I swear, I saw a tree just yesterday with orange bark. Like a sycamore kind of. Not as tall, and different leaves, but with the same kind of peely bark. Only where there should be white, it was orange! What on earth?

  2. Beverly Baumgartner
    September 26, 2007

    Aren’t these osage orange roots? I may be imagining it, but I know I’ve seen these roots before.

  3. the neufeld epp family
    September 27, 2007

    oh yes, my steady husband looked at me and said, “well, yeah, they’re orange…they’re roots.” so yes, i think they are roots and i assume osage orange…but i am still stunned, stunned, stunned by their color.

  4. chrisandchristine
    September 28, 2007

    Ever since I read this post, I’ve been wondering, “Where is THE root pile?” Today, I took the “back roads” to work and had an a-ha moment–a near collision and an a-ha moment! I saw the swatches of bright orange poking out every once in a while.

  5. lera
    September 29, 2007

    Oh my! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2007 by in family.
