prairie daze

claiming our daze and our days on the prairie

load of mousies

i heard eliza in the kitchen:
load of mousies
load of mousies
load of mousies

wondering, i went in.
and found her smearing a stick
of softened butter
all over her dress
the counter
her arms
her face
load of mousies?

i took a breath
in preparation to mutter
my many-times-daily refrain
and i knew then
what she was saying:

lord have mercy

13 comments on “load of mousies

  1. Beth
    August 26, 2007

    oh my….can’t imagine how you cleaned that up…but it sure is sweet.

  2. lera
    August 26, 2007

    How funny! (Messy, but funny.) And funny that she was repeating and imitating you.

  3. Alison Love
    August 26, 2007

    isn’t it amazing what they pick up from us?

  4. megan duerksen
    August 26, 2007

    i laughed LOUD! i can just hear her little voice!

  5. Stefani
    August 27, 2007

    Oh. My. Gosh. I adore this little butter bean! So cute!

  6. chrisandchristine
    August 27, 2007

    This truly is hilarious. I love it! And how great that you have proof for conversations that might happen years down the road.

  7. Oma
    August 27, 2007

    I was already in bed, exhausted from the day,,, the week,,, the month… And Dad came in with the computer and said, “You HAVE to see this!” I laughed so hard and fell asleep smiling. “Lord have mercy indeed!” Thanks again for taking the time to share these moments. Each photo and reflection is treasured.
    Love you all!!!

  8. Auntie Bonita
    August 27, 2007

    Yes! Please…load of mousies!! How do you do it? One day at a time, I guess.

  9. bex
    August 28, 2007

    Hahahahahaha!

  10. amy
    August 28, 2007

    this made me laugh out loud! i love it!

  11. Claire Heiks Siegrist (Jen's cousin)
    August 31, 2007

    Hey Kristin, I found your blog through Kate’s and I LOVED this post! I was laughing SO hard, I could barely explain to Marc (my husband) what was so funny! This little girl sounds like a real character!

  12. Pingback: load of mousies, part II « prairie daze

  13. Marjorie
    January 8, 2008

    NOW I get it! This is very funny. And now I see what you meant when you said that my Luke sounded like your Eliza. Yes, they would be fast friends.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2007 by in family.
